no better, no worse, no change, no pain

decorated books

In Literature on June 22, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Online literary magazine, The Millions, have released their annual Prizewinners 2009/2010 list. A sort of “hall of fame” of literary award winners, the list is an aggregation of shortlisted and winning books from six major awards since 1995. The rankings are established by awarding three points for a winner, and two points for a finalist, from the following awards: Booker Prize (B), National Book Critics Circle Award (C), International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award (I), National Book Award (N), Pulitzer Prize (P), Costa Book Award (W, formerly the Whitbread).

Rank Year Title Author Awards
11 2003 The Known World Edward P. Jones C, I, N, P
9 2001 The Corrections Jonathan Franzen C, I, N, P
8 2009 Wolf Hall Hilary Mantel B, C, W
8 2007 The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao Junot Díaz C, P, I
8 1997 Underworld Don DeLillo C, I, N, P
7 2005 The March E.L. Doctorow C, N, P
7 2004 Line of Beauty Alan Hollinghurst B, C, W
7 2002 Middlesex Jeffrey Eugenides I, N, P
7 2001 Atonement Ian McEwan B, C, W
7 1998 The Hours Michael Cunningham C, I, P
7 1997 Last Orders Graham Swift B, I, W
7 1997 Quarantine Jim Crace B, I, W
6 2009 Home Marilynn Robinson C, N, I
6 2005 The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai B, C
6 2004 Gilead Marilynn Robinson C, P
5 2008 The Secret Scripture Sebastian Barry B, W
5 2008 Olive Kitteridge Elizabeth Strout C, P
5 2007 Tree of Smoke Denis Johnson N, P
5 2006 The Road Cormac McCarthy C, P
5 2006 The Echo Maker Richard Powers N, P
5 2005 Europe Central William T. Vollmann C, N
5 2005 The Accidental Ali Smith B, W
5 2004 The Master Colm Toibin B, I
5 2003 The Great Fire Shirley Hazzard I, N
5 2001 True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey B, I
5 2000 The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay Michael Chabon C, P
5 2000 The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood B, I
5 1999 Waiting Ha Jin N, P
5 1999 Disgrace J.M. Coetzee B, C
5 1999 Being Dead Jim Crace C, W
5 1998 Charming Billy Alice McDermott I, N
5 1997 American Pastoral Philip Roth C, P
5 1996 Every Man for Himself Beryl Bainbridge B, W
5 1996 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer Steven Millhauser N, P
5 1995 The Moor’s Last Sigh Salman Rushdie B, W
5 1995 The Ghost Road Pat Barker B, W
5 1995 Independence Day Richard Ford C, P
5 1995 Sabbath’s Theater Philip Roth N, P

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: