no better, no worse, no change, no pain

troubles lost and found

In Literature on May 25, 2010 at 11:36 pm

The late J.G. Farrell has been awarded the Lost Man Booker Prize for his novel Troubles. The prize honours books published in 1970, when elibigibilty rules changed, and has been decided by public vote. The book took 38% of the votes to beat the five other shortlisted books, including two Australian works – Patrick White’s The Vivisector and Shirley Hazzard’s The Bay Of Noon. Troubles was the first book in Farrell’s Empire Trilogy and was followed by The Siege of Krishnapur, which won the Booker Prize in 1973.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: