no better, no worse, no change, no pain

the state of literature

In Literature on April 8, 2010 at 9:58 am

The shortlist of titles vying for the 2010 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced yesterday.

David Malouf has been nominated for the Christina Stead Prize for his novel Ransom. With two previous wins (in 1979 for An Imaginary Life, and in 1993 for Remembering Babylon), a win this year would rival Peter Carey’s record in the awards.

Take a gander, but most importantly, cast your vote for the People’s Choice Awards (NSW residents only!).

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
J.M. Coetzee, Summertime
Richard Flanagan, Wanting
Cate Kennedy, The World Beneath
Steven Lang, 88 Lines About 44 Women
David Malouf, Ransom
Craig Silvey, Jasper Jones

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction
Michael Cathcart, The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent
Graham Freudenberg, Churchill and Australia
Anna Goldsworthy, Piano Lessons
Richard Guilliatt & Peter Hohnen, The Wolf: How One German Raider Terrorized Australia and the Southern Oceans in the First World War
Paul McGeough, Kill Khalid: Mossad’s Failed Hit … And the Rise of Hamas
Noel Pearson, Up From The Mission: Selected Writings

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Jordie Albiston, the sonnet according to ‘m’
Emily Ballou, The Darwin Poems
Judith Beveridge, Storm and Honey
Emma Jones, The Striped World
Morgan Yasbincek, White Camel

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
Kathy Charles, Hollywood Ending
Richard Harland, Worldshaker
Justine Larbalestier, Liar
Glenda Millard, A Small Free Kiss in the Dark
Kirsty Murray, Vulture’s Gate
Pamela Rushby, When the Hipchicks Went to War

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
Allan Baillie, Krakatoa Lighthouse
Morris Gleitzmann, Grace
Lincoln Hall, Alive in the Death Zone: Mountain Survival
Richard Newsome, The Billionaire’s Curse
Gregory Rogers, The Hero of Little Street
Margaret Wild & Freya Blackwood (Illus), Harry and Hopper

Community Relations Commission Award
Abbas El-Zein, Leave to Remain: A Memoir
Tim Soutphommasane, Reclaiming Patriotism: Nation-building for Australian Progressives

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing for Fiction
Steven Amsterdam, Things We Didn’t See Coming
Kathy Charles, Hollywood Ending
Andrew Croome, Document Z
Glenda Guest, Siddon Rock
Karen Hitchcock, Little White Slips
Kirsten Reed, The Ice Age

Script Writing Award
Jane Campion, Bright Star
Kristen Dunphy & Michael Miller, East West 101: Episode 13
Adam Elliot, Mary and Max
Fiona Seres, Tangle: Episode One
Warwick Thornton, Samson and Delilah
Aviva Ziegler & Veronica Fury, Fairweather Man

Play Award
There is no shortlist in 2010. This year a grant of $30,000 will be made available to support professional development opportunities for new playwrights in 2011.

NSW Premier’s Prize for Literary Scholarship
Roslyn Jolly, Robert Louis Stevenson in the Pacific: Travel, Empire, and the Author’s Profession
Philip Mead, Networked Language: Culture and History in Australian Poetry
Brigid Rooney, Literary Activists: Writer-intellectuals and Australian Public Life

The winners of all the awards will be announced on May 17, during the Sydney Writers’ Festival.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: